CCRSB members sworn in; elect Chair and Vice-Chair

Media Release: 
Thursday, November 3, 2016

Sixteen members of the Chignecto-Central Regional School Board (CCRSB) were sworn in last evening at their annual organizational meeting. Trudy Thompson was acclaimed as Chair of the Board and Marilyn Murray was elected as Vice-Chair. Ms. Thompson has served as Chair since 2005; this is Ms. Murray’s first term as Vice-Chair.

The full list of board members sworn in is as follows: 

  • African-Nova Scotian Seat – Glenda Talbot-Richards
  • First Nations Seat – Andrea Paul 
  • District 1 – David Myles 
  • District 2 – Mackie Ross 
  • District 3 – Adam Davies 
  • District 4 – Jim Grue 
  • *District 5 – Reg Pauley 
  • District 6 – Margie Nicholson 
  • *District 7 – Robert George 
  • *District 8 – Sharron Byers 
  • District 9 – Trudy Thompson 
  • District 10 – Wendy Matheson-Withrow 
  • District 11 – Vacant (Special election to be scheduled.) 
  • District 12 – Anne Beaver 
  • District 13 – Vivian Farrell 
  • District 14 – Ron Marks 
  • District 15 – Marilyn Murray

*New members.

Board members were also appointed to four standing committees this evening: Human Resources Services, Financial Services, Education Services and Operational Services, as well as the Audit Committee. Membership lists for each of this committees, as well as select committees, will be available on the CCRSB website in the coming days.

The next full meeting for the board will be the Committee-of-the-Whole Meeting on November 9th at 7:00 pm at the Central Office, 60 Lorne Street, Truro.

The Chignecto-Central Regional School Board is comprised of 17 board members and 2,700 full-time staff all striving to develop independent, lifelong learners in a student-centered environment, with high expectations for all. CCRSB serves almost 20,000 students from Primary to Grade 12, throughout the counties of East Hants, Colchester, Cumberland and Pictou.


For more information, contact:

Debbie Buott-Matheson, Communications Manager 
Chignecto-Central Regional School Board

Office: 902-897-8911
Cell: 902-956-8079